What I’m Reading Now – Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

Mere Christianity – C.S. Lewis

https://i2.wp.com/store.antiochianvillage.org/images/P/Mere%20Christianity%20web.jpg

I’ve  just begun my journey through C.S. Lewis’ Mere Christianity. Im only in the fifth chapter, and its blowing my mind. He uses everyday casual language, but its so powerful. I cant believe I didnt get this book sooner.

He wrote this as an adaptation from BBC radio talks between 1941-1944, while he was serving as a soldier. He writes this in an effort to both prove and defend christianity.

“In religion, as in war and everything else, comfort is the one thing you cannot get by looking for it. If you look for truth, you may find comfort in the end: if you look for comfort you will not get either comfort or truth – only soft soap and wishful thinking to begin with and, in the end, despair. Most of us have got over the pre-war wishful thinking about international politics. It is time we did the same about religion.”

So whether you believe or not, this is a must read.

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading Now – Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

  1. Excellent book. God definitely spoke to me through this book prior to my conversion. Have you read anything else by Lewis? If not, I highly recommend the screwtape letters and the great divorce. But really, anything by Lewis is excellent.

Leave a Reply

